The second chakra is called the Sacral Chakra, or Svadhishthana in Sanskrit. This chakra can also been known as the Self Chakra in some dialogues. 

As far as the Sanskrit word of Svadhishthana goes, it is literally translated as “where the self resides”. Svadhishthana is broken down like this:

Sva = Self, Being

Adhishthana = Resides, Established


Although the Sacral Chakra and its essence comes from an area in the body extremely close to the Root Chakra (perhaps only 1 or 2 inches higher into the body), the energy manifestation of this chakra can be found in the front of the body just below the belly button. When checking your Sacral Chakra, focus on the lower abdomen region.

Due to this location in the body, the Sacral Chakra has an association with the reproductive system and contains unconscious desires that we must keep in control. Sexual temptations reside in this chakra, which we will address at the bottom of this page.

sacral chakra, second chakra, self chakra


The Sacral Chakra handles our perception of our past experiences and is more of a subconscious nature. As we learned with the Root Chakra, our experiences (Karma) are stored in the Root (Muladhara) Chakra. Meditation and focus on the Sacral Chakra gives us the chance to examine those experiences. Here is where one will have the the opportunity to evaluate mistakes of the past and shortcomings of one’s individual being. As subconsciousness is explored in this Sacral Chakra, we may even find information about our individual destinies and if we are on the proper paths to those destinies.

The corresponding element with this chakra is Water.

Awakening the energy in the Sacral Chakra is the more difficult than awakening the Root Chakra due to its subconscious nature and its relationship to water. Water is free flowing and difficult to control, just as this chakra.


As its nickname suggests, the Sacral “Self” Chakra has the ability to breed high ego and self-centeredness. Those traits can block this chakra from flowing freely and purely. Unfortunately, this day and age brings the highest levels of earthly connections, egotistical behavior, and materialism that we have ever seen in humanity.

Fortunately for those researching the chakras, we can learn to understand why and how our being is affected by society, thus allowing the insight to bring purity and examination to correct that behavior that society has impressed onto us.

sacral chakra, self chakra, what is the sacral chakra, what is the second chakra


Having a healthy Sacral Chakra is paramount and a pre-requisite to continue the ascent to the higher chakras.

Overcoming guilt and ego are imperative. Seeking your past experiences for tucked away guilt and forgiving yourself is not an easy task, but 100% necessary in cleansing this chakra.

Since this chakra is mainly powered by the subconscious, one may consider deeper meditations or even assisted meditations in order to reach the level of consciousness needed to realize what experiences may be causing guilt, despair, dis-ease, and self-doubt. QHHT is a natural and powerful way to tap into that realm and begin your healing journey through the Sacral Chakra.

Additionally, the symbol for the Sacral Chakra as seen in the middle of the image on this page includes the Sanskrit syllable or sound (mantra) of “vam” (Vam) वं. The sound of Vam (pronounced with an “ah” vowel sound) repeated in meditation can help bring creativity, passion, and balance, especially when the chakra has succumb to hasty, self-centered choices without thought or care of others.

With the Vam mantra, allow the energy of the Sacral Chakra to not only awaken and flow, but centralize on defeating guilt and anger. Since water is the element associated with this chakra, consider the difficult task of corralling water with pure control. Water is free-forming and fluid at all times, so this task will be difficult. Your guilts, angers, and disdained feelings are the same way, though they can be tamed with the proper focus, attention, control, and discipline.


Understanding that the Sacral Chakra deals with pleasures such as sexual behaviors, it is easy to see why this may be the most difficult chakra to control for our society and people of today. So much of our world is based on sex that the consciousness and energy of the sexual nature is being bastardized and stolen from us.

While sex becomes less respected and less cherished, it in turn is seen, felt, and used as merely a sensual pleasure. While pleasure seems to be the driving force for sex, a strong and diligent focus is needed to keep this energy in balance in order for the full potential of the Kundalini  (divine energy) to flow up from the Root Chakra, through our Sacral Chakra, and continue to spiral up the rest of the higher chakras. It’s easy to see why the vast majority of the population will never reach higher levels of balance as their energy is locked within this Sacral Chakra due to the amusement and mesmerizing pleasure of sex.


In conclusion, just like the Root Chakra, the removing of fear and anger are key to balance the Sacral Chakra. This time, you must free yourself from guilt and remove the ego from your Self. Doing so will balance the Sacral Chakra and help continue your spiritual ascension up through the chakras.

Once the Self is balanced and no longer holding guilt of the past and present, the next stop is the Solar Plexus Chakra.

~ Chakras ~